Pistons open season Dec. 23 at Minnesota; first-half schedule released

Detroit News

Rod Beard
 
| The Detroit News

After more than nine months since their last regular-season game, the Detroit Pistons know when they’ll play again. 

The Pistons will open the pandemic-delayed 2020-21 season on the road, facing the Minnesota Timberwolves on Wednesday, Dec. 23, with an 8 p.m. tipoff. It’s the first of a reduced 72-game regular season announced Friday, a start more than two months later than normal because of the pandemic. 

The home opener three days later is against Cleveland — and the first matchup against longtime Pistons center Andre Drummond — with a 7 p.m. tipoff at Little Caesars Arena in Detroit.

Because of state and local COVID regulations, there will be no fans at Pistons home games. 

The NBA released schedules for the first half of the season; the second-half schedules will be announced near the end of the first part of the season, allowing for rescheduling games postponed because of the pandemic or other issues.

A TV and radio broadcast schedule will also be announced later.

Pistons first-half schedule

►Wednesday, Dec. 23, at Minnesota, 8

►Saturday, Dec. 26, Cleveland, 7

►Monday, Dec. 28, at Atlanta, 7:30

►Tuesday, Dec. 29, Golden State, 7

►Friday, Jan. 1, Boston, 7

►Sunday, Jan. 3, Boston, 3

►Monday, Jan. 4, at Milwaukee, 8

►Wednesday, Jan. 6, at Milwaukee, 8

►Friday, Jan. 8, Phoenix, 7

►Sunday, Jan. 10, Utah, 3

►Wednesday, Jan. 13, Milwaukee, 7

►Friday, Jan. 15, Washington, 7

►Saturday, Jan. 16, at Miami, 8

►Monday, Jan. 18, at Miami, 3

►Wednesday, Jan. 20, at Atlanta, 7:30

►Friday, Jan. 22, Houston, 7

►Saturday, Jan. 23, Philadelphia, 7

►Monday, Jan. 25, Philadelphia, 7

►Wednesday, Jan. 27, at Cleveland, 7

►Thursday, Jan. 28, L.A. Lakers, 7

►Saturday, Jan. 30, at Golden State, 8:30

►Monday, Feb. 1, at Denver, 9

►Tuesday, Feb. 2, at Utah, 9

►Friday, Feb. 5, at Phoenix, 9

►Saturday, Feb. 6, at L.A. Lakers, 10

►Tuesday, Feb. 9, Brooklyn, 7

►Thursday, Feb. 11, Indiana, 7

►Sunday, Feb. 14, at Boston, 6

►Tuesday, Feb. 16, San Antonio, 7

►Wednesday, Feb. 17, at Dallas, 8:30

►Friday, Feb. 19, at Memphis, 8

►Sunday, Feb. 21, at Orlando, 6

►Tuesday, Feb. 23, at Orlando, 7

►Wednesday, Feb. 24, at New Orleans, 8

►Friday, Feb. 26, Sacramento, 7

►Sunday, Feb. 28, New York, 6

►Tuesday, March 2, at Toronto (at Tampa, Fla.), 7:30

rod.beard@detroitnews.com

Twitter: @detnewsRodBeard

Articles You May Like

Do you miss the Pistons’ Bad Boy era? Check out the African League
2020-21 Rewind: Around knee injury, Okafor provided Pistons with a back-to-the-basket presence
Detroit Pistons: 3 things Killian Hayes can learn from Chris Paul
Pistons own NBA’s 2nd-worst record; here’s how similar teams have fared in lottery, draft
Detroit Pistons: The 2011 NBA Draft still hurts a decade later

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *