Detroit Pistons unveil 2021-22 schedule: Cade Cunningham era begins vs. Chicago Bulls

Detroit Free Press

The Cade Cunningham era of the Detroit Pistons begins two months from today.

Cunningham, the No. 1 pick in July’s draft, will make his anticipated debut with the Pistons when they host longtime Central division rival Chicago Bulls on Oct. 20 (7 p.m.) at Little Caesars Arena to open the 2021-22 season. The Pistons then visit the new-look Bulls on Oct. 23.

The much anticipated matchup vs. Jalen Green and the Houston Rockets in Detroit will take place Saturday, Dec. 18 for a noon tipoff.

Green, the No. 2 pick in the draft, recently blasted the city of Detroit in a Yahoo story profile, comparing it to the “G League bubble.”

THE ROSTER: Hamidou Diallo returns to Pistons, so who is odd man out?

FRONT OFFICE: Pistons add familiar face George David as assistant GM

SHAWN WINDSOR: As a diss track maker, Jalen Green is great. But as arbiter of Detroit’s cool? Forget it

The Pistons visit Houston five weeks earlier on Nov. 10 for their lone nationally televised game. They have four games scheduled to air on NBA TV.

The Pistons, who have played shortened seasons of 66 and 72 games the past two years due to the COVID-19 pandemic, went 20-52 last season, their worst record since a 20-62 season in 1993-94.

They have 12 sets of back-to-back matchups on the 82-game slate.

Early season showdowns in Detroit to watch include visits from Giannis Antetokounmpo and NBA champion Milwaukee (Nov. 2), Kevin Durant and Brooklyn (Nov. 4), Joel Embiid and Philadelphia (Nov. 5), Stephen Curry and Golden State (Nov. 19), and LeBron James and the L.A. Lakers (Nov. 21).

Here is the Pistons’ regular season schedule:

Day Date Opponent Time TV

Wed. Oct. 20 Chicago 7:00 p.m.

Sat. Oct. 23 at Chicago 8:00 p.m.

Mon. Oct. 25 at Atlanta 7:30 p.m.

Thu. Oct. 28 at Philadelphia 7:00 p.m. NBA TV

Sat. Oct. 30 Orlando 7:00 p.m.

Sun. Oct. 31 at Brooklyn 7:30 p.m.

Tue. Nov. 2 Milwaukee 7:00 p.m.

Thu. Nov. 4 Philadelphia 7:00 p.m.

Fri. Nov. 5 Brooklyn 7:00 p.m.

Wed. Nov. 10 at Houston 7:30 p.m. ESPN

Fri. Nov. 12 at Cleveland 7:30 p.m.

Sat. Nov. 13 at Toronto 7:30 p.m.

Mon. Nov. 15 Sacramento 7:00 p.m.

Wed. Nov. 17 Indiana 7:00 p.m.

Fri. Nov. 19 Golden State 7:00 p.m.

Sun. Nov. 21 L.A. Lakers 6:00 p.m.

Tue. Nov. 23 Miami 7:00 p.m.

Wed. Nov. 24 at Milwaukee 8:00 p.m.

Fri. Nov. 26 at L.A. Clippers 3:30 p.m.

Sun. Nov. 28 at L.A. Lakers 9:30 p.m.

Tue. Nov. 30 at Portland 10:00 p.m.

Thu. Dec. 2 at Phoenix 9:00 p.m.

Mon. Dec. 6 Oklahoma City 7:00 p.m. NBA TV

Wed. Dec. 8 Washington 7:00 p.m.

Fri. Dec. 10 at New Orleans 8:00 p.m.

Sun. Dec. 12 Brooklyn 6:00 p.m.

Tue. Dec. 14 at Chicago 8:00 p.m.

Thu. Dec. 16 at Indiana 7:00 p.m.

Sat. Dec. 18 Houston 12:00 p.m.

Sun. Dec. 19 Miami 6:00 p.m.

Tue. Dec. 21 at New York 7:30 p.m.

Thu. Dec. 23 at Miami 7:30 p.m.

Sun. Dec. 26 at San Antonio 7:00 p.m.

Wed. Dec. 29 New York 7:00 p.m.

Sat. Jan. 1 San Antonio 7:00 p.m.

Mon. Jan. 3 at Milwaukee 8:00 p.m.

Wed. Jan. 5 at Charlotte 7:00 p.m.

Thu. Jan. 6 at Memphis 8:00 p.m.

Sat. Jan. 8 Orlando 7:00 p.m.

Mon. Jan. 10 Utah 7:00 p.m.

Wed. Jan. 12 Phoenix 7:00 p.m.

Fri. Jan. 14 Toronto 7:00 p.m.

Tue. Jan. 18 at Golden State 10:00 p.m. NBA TV

Wed. Jan. 19 at Sacramento 10:00 p.m.

Fri. Jan. 21 at Utah 9:00 p.m.

Sun. Jan. 23 at Denver 8:00 p.m.

Tue. Jan. 25 Denver 7:00 p.m.

Fri. Jan. 28 at Orlando 7:00 p.m.

Sun. Jan. 30 Cleveland 6:00 p.m.

Tue. Feb. 1 New Orleans 7:00 p.m.

Thu. Feb. 3 Minnesota 7:00 p.m.

Fri. Feb. 4 Boston 7:00 p.m.

Sun. Feb. 6 at Minnesota 3:30 p.m.

Tue. Feb. 8 at Dallas 8:30 p.m.

Thu. Feb. 10 Memphis 7:00 p.m.

Fri. Feb. 11 Charlotte 7:00 p.m.

Mon. Feb. 14 at Washington 7:00 p.m.

Wed. Feb. 16 at Boston 7:30 p.m.

Thu. Feb. 24 Cleveland 7:00 p.m.

Sat. Feb. 26 Boston 12:00 p.m.

Sun. Feb. 27 at Charlotte 7:00 p.m.

Tue. Mar. 1 at Washington 7:00 p.m.

Thu. Mar. 3 at Toronto 7:30 p.m.

Fri. Mar. 4 Indiana 7:00 p.m.

Mon. Mar. 7 Atlanta 7:00 p.m.

Wed. Mar. 9 Chicago 7:00 p.m.

Fri. Mar. 11 at Boston 7:30 p.m.

Sun. Mar. 13 L.A. Clippers 3:00 p.m.

Tue. Mar. 15 at Miami 7:30 p.m.

Thu. Mar. 17 at Orlando 7:00 p.m. NBA TV

Sat. Mar. 19 at Cleveland 8:00 p.m.

Mon. Mar. 21 Portland 7:00 p.m.

Wed. Mar. 23 Atlanta 7:00 p.m.

Fri. Mar. 25 Washington 7:00 p.m.

Sun. Mar. 27 New York 3:30 p.m.

Tue. Mar. 29 at Brooklyn 7:30 p.m.

Thu. Mar. 31 Philadelphia 7:00 p.m.

Fri. Apr. 1 at Oklahoma City 8:00 p.m.

Sun. Apr. 3 at Indiana 5:00 p.m.

Wed. Apr. 6 Dallas 7:00 p.m.

Fri. Apr. 8 Milwaukee 7:00 p.m.

Sun. Apr. 10 at Philadelphia TBD

Stay informed on what’s happening across Michigan: Subscribe to our news alert emails hereWant more Pistons news? Download our free mobile app on iPhone & Android!

Articles You May Like

The Pindown: What to Make of the Fred Vinson Hire w/Jack Kelly
Report: Monty Williams return to Detroit ‘the likely outcome’
The Pistons are not just a coach away
Pistons add one of league’s top shooting coaches to coaching staff
NBA Finals Game 5 GameThread: Celtics vs. Mavericks

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *